Carol A. Kueker Construction Education Visionary Award Winner

2020 NEF’s Carol A Kueker Construction Education
Visionary Award Winner

Ellyn A. Lester, Assoc. AIA, PhDc

Stevens Institute of Technology
Hoboken, NJ

As a Teaching Associate Professor of Construction Management, Ellyn Lester also serves as the Director of Built Environment Programs and Associate Chair of Graduate Studies for the Civil, Environmental and Ocean Engineering Department. During her tenure, the Construction Management and Construction Engineering and Management masters programs have seen tremendous growth, starting in the mid-20s in 2014 to their current enrollment of more than 120 students.

Before joining Stevens, Lester worked at the New School of Architecture and Design in San Diego, was a Vice President at MBA Management, a Vice President at the Design-Build Institute of America and led the marketing efforts of several architecture firms. She has also served on numerous professional

boards including AIA Washington DC, AIA San Diego, SMPS Kansas City, and the Construction Roundtable of New Jersey. Lester has presented her research at numerous regional, national and international academic and professional conferences, including CIB International Research, ICCF, ASEE, and AMPS, as well as several AIA regional conferences, ECC International and the CMAA World Conference.

Her notable awards include the 2018 Stevens’ Faculty Appreciation Award from the Graduate Student Council, the 2012 AIA California Associate of the Year, the 2011 NewSchool of Architecture Staff Member of the Year, the 2003 Design-Build Institute of America’s Chapter of the Year – while serving as the chapter’s Executive Director – and SMPS National’s Striving for Excellence Grand Prize in 2001.

Lester – Press Release
Criteria for this award
Nominations Form

The Carol A. Kueker Construction Education Visionary Award recognizes individuals for their passion and dedication to NEF programs and the promotion of construction education.

Award Finalists for 2020

Andrea L. Breen
Quality Control Manager
Zignego Ready Mix
Waukesha, WI
Sponsored by:  Adrienne Carlson

Demi Knight Clark
Founder + Chief Spark Igniter
She Built This City
Fort Mill, SC
Sponsored by:  Dove Sifers-Putman, CBT

Omar Garcia
Morse High School
San Diego, CA
Sponsored by:  Myrna Smith and Rhonda Mitchell

Sue Z. Hart
Founder and Executive Director
Building Beyond Walls
Bonny Lake, WA
Sponsored by:  Maureen Byrnes

Karen K. Jenkins
Education Coordinator
Highland Mountain Correctional Center
Anchorage, AK
Sponsored by:  Tamie K. Taylor

Herbert J. Johnston, Jr., DBA
Education Director
Guam Contractors Association Trades Academy
Sponsored by:  Bing C. Mejia

James M. Kelly Jr.
Executive Director/Business/Workforce Development
Construction Partnership
Rochester, MN
Sponsored by:  Jodi Wiemerslage

Mark McCord
Workforce Development Manager
Academy of Craft Training
Alexandria, AL
Sponsored by:  Mindy Harris

Benjamin P. Morgan
Vice President and adjunct Professor & Construction Management Advisory Committee Chairperson
Barton Malow Company & Morgan State University
Baltimore, MD
Sponsored by:  Jennifer Sproul, LEED AP

Ralph Szydlik
Flower Mound High School
Flower Mound, TX
Sponsored by:  Keshvar Buhariwalla

Rebecca Woods
Executive Director
The Interchange Foundation
Nashville, TN
Sponsored by:  Andre N. Ward

NEF would like to recognize and offer a special thank you to this year’s judges:

Doreen Bartoldus PE, CCM, ENV SP, DBIA Assoc.
Jacobs Engineering

Cindy Johnsen CBT, CDS, CIT
Granite Construction Co.

Connie M. Leipard CIT
Quality Drywall Construction

Lauline A. Mitchell
BBI Construction

Previous Recipients

2019: Michael E. Barkett
Mississippi Construction Education Foundation
Pearl, MS

2018: Alise Martiny
Business Manager/Finance Secretary
Greater Kansas City Building Trades Council
Independence, MO

2017: Kathleen Garrity
Retired President
Associated Builders & Contractors of Western Washington
Mill Creek, WA

2016: Jack Chapel
Education Coordinator
AGC, San Diego Chapter, Apprenticeship and Training Trust
San Diego, CA

2015: Robert M. Aydukovic
CRE President
Maryland Center for Construction Education and Innovation (MCCEI)
Towson, MD

2014: Brian H. Hess
Engineering/Surveying Coordinator
Mount San Jacinto Community College
San Jacinto, CA

2013: Jennifer Blanchard Belk
Assistant Professor of Interior Design
Winthrop University
Rock Hill, SC

2012: Dr. Linda Thomas-Mobley
Chair, Construction Management Program
NewSchool of Architecture & Design
San Diego, CA

2011: Sheilah Goulart
Founder & Director
YouthBuild San Joaquin, Pre YouthBuild
San Joaquin Building Futures Academy
San Joaquin Regional Conservation Corps.
Stockton, CA

2010: Dan Graham
Northwest College of Construction
Portland, OR

Darline H. Johnson Volunteer Achievement Award

Past Recipients

2012: Karen E. Long, CIT was recognized for time, leadership and overall dedication to the on-line testing procedures for NEF Adult Education courses.

2009: Susan Carson, CIT and Linda Young, CBT, CIT were recognized for their work in developing the Construction Bookkeeping 101 (CBT) Adult Education program.

2006: Pat Callicotte, CCA was recognized for time, talent, leadership and overall dedication to the organization over the past years.

2005: Roger Liska was recognized for his exemplary efforts to promote NEF and its programs across the industry and help build their value and prestige.

2004: Frances Jackson was recognized for her outstanding fund-raising efforts for NEF and her overall dedication to the organization.

1998: Carol Kueker was recognized for her outstanding service as Program Coordinator for NEF.

1997: Kimberly Cameron was recognized for her involvement in organizing the Building Design Program targeted towards students in grades six through nine.

1993: Cheryl Kolar was recognized for her role in establishing the CAD/Design/Drafting Competition geared toward senior high school students.